“I like this album. Sixty-four minutes long and everything well worth hearing” David Mellor, The New Releases Show, Classic FM, 19 December 2015


“This delightfully fresh disc” Organists Review

With singing that’s been described as ‘thrilling’, ‘vivacious’ and ‘incisive’, Cantemus is proud to launch its latest CD, Nativity: a delightful selection of Christmas music, both old and new, from all over the world.

This disc has something for everyone; traditional carols stirring memories of snowy landscapes, lilting lullabies from the sun-drenched Caribbean, and shimmering anthems that touch the heart. True to our Welsh roots, the recording features innovative arrangements by our Swansea-born Music Director, Huw Williams, as well as works by Welsh composers H Walford Davies and William Mathias. Also included is the much-loved Suo-Gân, beautifully arranged by our former Music Director and accompanist on this CD, Robert Court.

Whether it’s the clear tones of a solo treble, the thundering of an organ, or the rich harmonies of a many-part anthem, Christmas carols have a unique power to move us and remind us what really counts at this special time of year. Recorded in the wonderful acoustic of St Augustine’s Church, Penarth, with accompaniment from the church’s fine William Hill organ, Nativity is the perfect Christmas gift for any music lover.  Don’t miss out on this must-have collection of festive treasures from one of Wales’ foremost choirs.

Click here to listen to some sample tracks.


“The sound is hugely impressive; the choir sing with energy, clarity and an excitingly bright timbre. They are clearly attentive to Huw Williams’ musical vision…witty displays of vocal agility, which the choir clearly revel in…subtle dynamic control and fine blend.” Organists Review

“The choir performs admirably throughout, with a full, rich, harmonious communal voice, both nimble and joyful…the sound quality for this CD is excellent.” Musicweb International

“a new recording on the Regent label that I strongly recommend…Cantemus Chamber Choir…brings a blend of precision, decorum and whimsy to each piece they sing based on its character. Away in a Manger to Calypso Carol is quite a leap but they seem to slide from one to the next without effort. Heartfelt tenderness in Suo-Gân and joyful spirit in Deck the Hall. No need to program your CD player to play multiple CDs on random shuffle this Christmas. This one has everything covered” Classical Music Sentinel

“There is much to enjoy on this CD: the singing is good and the material well chosen…there are the unusual selections which make this of interest to even the most seasoned of seasonal CD buyers…Yes, there are many Christmas choral CDs on the market but despite the competition I am happy to recommend this one both for the standard of performance and also the interesting repertoire. 9/10” Cross Rhythms

Track list

    1. Jingle BellsJ Pierpont, arr Ralph Allwood
    2. Once in royal David’s cityHJ Gauntlett, AJ Mann, David Willcocks, James O’Donnell
    3. Sussex Carol (On Christmas night)English trad, arr David Willcocks
    4. Suo-GânWelsh trad, arr Robert Court
    5. A babe is bornWilliam Mathias
    6. Here is the little doorHerbert Howells
    7. O come, all ye faithfulJF Wade, arr David Willcocks
    8. Away in a mangerW Kirkpatrick, arr Huw Williams
    9. Ave MariaGustav Holst
    10. Calypso CarolMichael Perry, arr John Bertalot
    11. The LambJohn Tavener
    12. God rest ye merry, gentlemenEnglish trad, arr David Willcocks
    13. Lux aurumqueEric Whitacre
    14. Mary had a baby Spiritual, arr Malcolm Sargent
    15. Adam lay yboundenJohn Ireland
    16. Hawaiian lullabySpiritual, arr Malcolm Sargent
    17. Alleluia! I bring you news of great joyFrancis Grier
    18. The holly and the ivyEnglish trad, arr H Walford Davies
    19. A hymn to the virginBenjamin Britten
    20. Spanish CarolSpanish trad, arr Andrew Carter
    21. O little town of BethlehemH Walford Davies
    22. Hark! The herald angels singMendelssohn, arr David Willcocks
    23. Deck the hallWelsh trad, arr Huw Williams

How to buy

The CD is now available from all mainstream high street and online outlets, as well as from iTunes. Copies can be ordered directly from Cantemus at a price of £10 per CD, including postage and packing. Please post a cheque, including your full postal address, to: Dr Mike Page, 3 Millcroft Court, St Mary Church, Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan, CF71 7LH. We’ll post your disc(s) as soon as we receive your payment.

If you would prefer to pay via online bank transfer, please email and we will provide you with our banking details.  Disc(s) will be posted once your payment has cleared.

Special discounts apply for existing members of the Friends of Cantemus Scheme. If this applies to you, please contact our Chairman, Mike Page, directly on 01446 773953 for details and to place your order.